Links of Last Week

It’s time for the weekly round-up of links. This was the week of videos! If you have not yet seen these, shared on my Facebook page, grab a box of tissues and get comfortable.

First, this incredibly inspiring segment from a documentary called Children Full of Life.

In the award-winning documentary Children Full of Life, a fourth-grade class in a primary school in Kanazawa, northwest of Tokyo, learn lessons about compassion from their homeroom teacher, Toshiro Kanamori.

He instructs each to write their true inner feelings in a letter, and read it aloud in front of the class. By sharing their lives, the children begin to realize the importance of caring for their classmates.

Next, a heartbreaking, overwhelming, and ultimately inspirational story about a little girl who is recovering from a traumatic brain injury sustained several years ago when her childcare provider shook her and threw her. I read an article about her mom, which led me to her TEDx speech, Time, Intensity, and Patience.

Also this week, some advice:

It’s possible that in a week of really great links, my favorite is this piece shared with me by my friend Teresa, a kindergarten teacher: The Hardest Job Everyone Thinks They Can Do.

Acquaintances ask me how my work is going. I explain how I’m having a difficult time with a certain kid. I can’t seem to get him to pay attention in class.

Acquaintances smirk knowingly. And they say, “well, have you tried making it fun for the kids? That’s how you get through to them, you know?”

And then, they explain to me how I should do my job….

I realize now how little respect teachers get. Teaching is the toughest job everyone who’s never done it thinks they can do.

A must-read for new moms everywhere: Kate Middleton and the Mom In the Mirror

Finally, don’t forget that tomorrow is my friend Phillip’s birthday and annual event: Paying It Forward Day! He’s asking everyone he knows and everyone they know — and so on and so on around the globe — to perform a random act of kindness. Just one. Then share your story with the community, if you’d like, as gift for Phillip and inspiration to others. I’m sharing breakfast and flowers with my co-workers tomorrow morning to start their Monday off right, and I’m asking them to take those good feelings, from good food and good thoughts, and pass them on through their children and families all day.

“We think too much and feel too little. More than machinery, we need humanity. More than cleverness, we need kindness and gentleness.” – Charlie Chaplin

Don’t want to miss anything? Follow me on Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter. See you there!

Leave a Reply

